Sorell is located approx 25 minutes from Hobart.  The Municipal boundary extends east through Orielton and further South East around a beach-lined coast encompassing townships of Dodges Ferry, Lewisham, Carlton, Primrose Sands, Dunalley, Marion Bay and Boomer Bay.  Sorell’s inland boundary extends through picturesque countryside, sweeping through the townships of Forcett, Copping, Nugent and Kellevie.

While Sorell is one of the fastest growing municipalities in Tasmania, it offers a relaxed lifestyle in a friendly community.  Sorell is a dynamic community with a range of recreational activities for children, youth, families and seniors.  Our beautiful southern beaches and rural countryside provide residents with an enviable lifestyle.